Bamboo Bean Tent

Well it is that time of the year when you can not do a lot of planting outside. But that does not mean you shouldn’t be working in the garden.  It was this time last year that I built my 7 raised beds..(ok my dad did most of the building while I held the boards). This end of the winter season it was my plan to accessorize my garden a bit.  Add a little bling.  So I am building some trellises for my raspberries, beans, cucumbers, squash, and what ever else I can get to climb. 

This is the year of going up. And first up is my bamboo bean pole. You can go all out with designs and spend a lot of money on your trellis, but that doesn’t have to be.  If you got some extra coin lying around here are some really cool ones. I like to do things on the cheap so I rummaged around at my landscaping friends house for some scraps.  He had a couple older tall bamboo poles that I got for free. 

I really wanted to make a teepee for my beans and hopefully end up with a little fort for the kids when they have airsoft wars in the back yard.  Here is what I ended up with. The strings are double supported by my daughter and our foster daughter.  This is about 7 feet out fo the ground and 3 feet in the ground with the front being open.

check out this great site with some other ideas for your trellis.

http://happyfarming.com/2009/02/12/building-a-better-bean-trellis/

4 responses to “Bamboo Bean Tent”

  1. Thomas W. says :

    @Joseph: I think the teepee looks great, and I like the size of it. I have a 2 year old daughter who would love to play hide-and-seek in one of those 😉
    Thank you for the mention!

    • joseph says :

      Thanks for coming over Thomas. Love your site. Our kids are 6,10,10,11,12 so they are going to use it as shelter as they are shooting at each other..

  2. เต็นท์ผ้าใบ says :

    Pretty! This was a really wonderful article. Many thanks
    for supplying this info.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Put bamboo in your title..what’s in a name « A Growing Family - January 16, 2013

Leave a Reply

