I don’t know where we are going but I can lead!

2013-09-07 13.22.09It was a nice Saturday morning and I was up early to work in the garden. Potatoes, peas, and carrots were in order for the day. While I was out there enjoying life my father in law, Bill, shows up on his motorcycle.  He said he was there to pick up an apple mill to make sauce for his wife. I think he came to remind me of what days like this were for, riding a motorcycle.

He left as quick as he came, but an hour later the call came. Him and Mark were going for a ride. “Was I in?”.  Of course I was, the zucchini could wait. Given the heat level I kept my full face helmet off and enjoyed the wind of my shield-less Vulcan.  Mark had a half helmet that I tried and quickly took off because of the lift and extreme noise it was creating.

What a great ride with my two favorite riding partners. We stopped at the Wolf River at one point and as we were leaving, Mark asked if I wanted to lead. On most rides he leads, because he knows every road and I am the sweeper so I can pick up things Bill drops along the way. (yes I did turn around to get his glasses that flew out of his pocket) I looked at him and said, “I don’t know where we are going but of course I could lead”.

I love riding because when you are out with your gang it doesn’t really matter where you are going. Like Frodo leaving Rivendale I got to the T and just picked a way. We made our way to White Lake Wi to ride by the 60 people that live in that town hanging out at the beach.  We came into the deserted town to find a young teen doing circles in the middle of the intersection. We asked him where the best burger in town was and with a point over his shoulder he said, “Black Bear”.

With a stop for a late lunch and the reminder that you should always get the home fries we were off back home.  The last 20 miles I switch bikes with Bill because I hadn’t yet got to ride his Sabre. It was a sweet ride for me. When we pulled into the driveway the first words out of Bill’s month were, “God made windshields and He said they are good! That was a lot of work with the shield gone.”

That is the way I like it!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

