Newswatch 12 book interview

morning crewI had the honor of doing a live in studio interview about my motorcycle book, Ride On, at our local NBC news channel. It was slated for 6:25am and I was invited to come a few minutes early and I wanted to see how the inside of a news program works so I did just that. I poked my head up to the window of the control room and watched for a bit then walked the hall to the studio.

After getting the ‘all clear’ sign from Hayley to come in and watch the broadcast I entered and had a seat.  What a cool experience to see the cameras, back drops, green screens, the cut in and outs, and the random comments and dance moves made by the anchors while not on screen.  I am pretty sure I would watch the news more if there was a studio camera option

The weather guy, Ryan, I met a year ago as he was at the our church donating blood for the first time and doing live feeds for the evening news. His camera man needed to head back to the studio so I got to do some video work on that piece. I am sure it is up for some news awards. He of course remembered me when I said, “hey blood donating buddy!”

Hayley and the gang do a great job producing a legitimately awesome morning news program. Today Show…what’s that? I had fun for my two minutes and 22 seconds. I have always liked it when the clock shows the same numbers, so I will take my 2:22 as a good sign!

Got to also meet Lauren who is super cool. On my way out I noticed a huge trophy on her desk. Which is passed around to the workers who do extraordinary work. It was for her competitive edge and determination she showed at the local mash potato eating contest several weeks. The competition was so amazing no one has even come close to doing anything as grand to get the trophy off her desk.

Ok enough of my yapping…here is the video. And for those that see me live on a regular basis I think you will be shocked to noticed where my hands are most of the time. It was hard but I did it.

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Newswatch 12 book interview”

  1. bikermonkey says :

    Joseph! That is awesome!!! I really enjoyed watching you on TV. Praise God……. Ride On brother. BikerMonkey

  2. John Fehlen says :

    Proud of you bro. I loved how your arms and hands stayed under submission. I noticed one point where your hand wanted to bust out, but you caught yourself and shoved it back in your pocket! Too funny. 🙂

  3. Leah says :

    I finally got around to watching this! Nicely done Joseph! I can’t believe you were on TV!

Leave a Reply

